Will Zamalek participate in the 2025 Club World Cup?

Zamalek won the 2024 African Confederation Cup title after defeating RS Berkane on aggregate 2-2 (away goal advantage), raising questions about the possibility of the white club participating in the 2025 Club World Cup.

The name of the Club World Cup is scheduled to change to the Intercontinental Competition in the 2024 edition, which will be held under a new system and not the system of a combined tournament in one country, with the champions of the continents participating in it as is usual.

But starting in 2025, the Club World Cup will be held again in a new look, and with huge financial profits that have made it a goal for all clubs around the world, led by Barcelona of Spain.

Special | Concern in Al-Ahly after Morocco announced the date of the 2025 African Cup

In the following lines, we will learn together about whether Zamalek will participate in the 2025 Club World Cup, what is the competition system, the qualified clubs from the African continent, and more details.

What is the system for the 2025 Club World Cup?

A completely new system will be implemented in the 2025 Club World Cup, where 32 teams from seven continents will participate, with the tournament being a World Cup system for teams.

The clubs will be divided into 8 groups, each group containing 4 teams, from which the first two teams will qualify for the round of 16, after which the competition will be completed with a knockout system until the final match.

A maximum of two teams will participate from each country, and the clubs will be determined based on their classification in their continental federations, that is, based on their success in continental competitions in the last 5 years.

Will Zamalek participate in the 2025 Club World Cup?

Due to the classification, even after winning the 2024 CAF Confederation Cup, Zamalek will not participate in the 2025 Club World Cup.

Only 4 clubs from the African continent will participate, based on their recent participation in the African Champions League and the Confederation, and unfortunately for the White Knight, Esperance’s reaching the Champions League final prevented it from advancing in the classification and being present in the American Club World Cup.

Which African clubs are participating in the 2025 Club World Cup?

Al-Ahly of Egypt will participate in the 2025 Club World Cup as champion of the 2021 edition, along with Moroccan Wydad, which won the title in the 2022 edition.

In addition to the duo, Mamelodi Sundowns is the highest ranked club based on the number of times it has reached the advanced stages of the African Champions League, as well as having won the African League title, then Esperance of Tunisia comes as the fourth representative of the African continent in the Club World Cup.

Source link

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى