Which team has reached the European Nations Cup final the most without winning the title?

We are only a few days away from the start of the European Nations Cup, which will be held after the end of the 2023-24 season in the European leagues, and will be hosted by German soil in the period between June 14 and July 14.

The European Nations Cup will be held in Germany for the third time in its history, after it hosted the eighth edition of the tournament in 1988, but at that time it was held in West Germany, and Germany also hosted some matches of the 2020 edition.

Germany and Spain are the two teams that have won the most European Nations Cup titles, with 3 titles each, as La Roja won the title in the years (1964, 2008, 2012). As for the German machinery team, it won the title in (1972, 1980, 1996).

But what about the most teams that have reached the European Nations final and not won the title? “That’s what he’s talking about.”win winIn the following lines…

Which team has qualified for the final the most and not won the title?

The German national team has previously reached the European Nations Cup final on six occasions over the course of its past twelve participations; But he only succeeded in winning the championship title three times.

Germany had previously participated in the Euro under the name West Germany, before Germany was unified in 1990. Germany had previously lost the title in the 1976 edition after being defeated by Czechoslovakia on penalties (5-3) after the two teams tied (2-2) in the edition. Which was held in Yugoslavia.

The German team was called West Germany at the time and entered the ’76 edition and was a candidate to retain the title after winning it in the 1972 edition, which was held in Belgium. However, the Czechoslovakian team had a different opinion. Note that West Germany compensated for that loss in the next edition, reaching the final of the 1980 tournament and winning the title at the expense of Belgium.

The German national team returned to appear European finals Again, this time in the 1992 edition, which was held in Sweden for the first time two years after the reunification of Germany, but the Germans fell to Denmark in the final (2-0).

Germany is preparing to host the UEFA European Football Championship 2024 winwin

While the last loss for Germany was in the European Nations Cup final at the hands of the Spanish national team, and the matter happened exactly 16 years ago, when the Spanish national team defeated it (1-0) in the final of the 2008 tournament.

In addition to the German national team, the former Soviet Union national team and currently Russia is the team that has lost the European Nations Cup final title the most on 3 occasions as well, in versions (1964, 1972, 1988).

The teams that lost the most in the European Nations Cup final

Germany/West Germany 3 times (1976, 1992, 2008)
Soviet Union/Russia 3 times (1964, 1972, 1988)
Yugoslavia twice (1960, 1968)
Italy twice (2000, 2012)

Source link

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى