The England national team announces its preliminary roster for the 2024 European Cup

England national football team coach, Gareth Southgate, announced on Tuesday, May 21, his preliminary list for the UEFA Euro 2024 finals, as it was devoid of some resonant names such as Manchester United striker Marcus Rashford.

Rashford (26 years old and 60 international matches) marked a disappointing season during which he only scored 8 goals and 5 assists in various competitions, far from his remarkable performance last season when he scored 30 goals with 10 assists.

And again Southgate His decision in a press conference, saying: “These are difficult decisions to make. In Marcos’ case, I feel that other players in this position have had better seasons. It’s that simple.”

Southgate has more than one brilliant player on the left wing, where he can rely on Anthony Gordon, Jack Grealish and Phil Foden.

Southgate excluded Rashford from the starting lineup last March, as he entered at the end of the friendly international match against Brazil (0-1) instead of Newcastle winger Gordon, before remaining on the bench in the second match against Belgium (2-2).

In addition to Rashford, former Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson, who moved from the Saudi Al-Ettifaq to the Dutch club Ajax, was absent, in addition to Chelsea captain Reece James, from a squad of 33 players that coach Gareth Southgate will reduce to 26 players at a later time.

The expanded England squad included new faces, such as promising Everton defenders Jarrad Branthwaite and Liverpool’s Jarrel Quansah (both 21 years old), and 20-year-old Crystal Palace midfielder Adam Wharton.

England national football team (ESPN)

He remains the youngest invited to the preliminary England national team roster, a midfielder Manchester United 19-year-old Kobe Maino is one of the rare suns in Manchester United’s dark season.

England preliminary squad for Euro 2024

  • Goalkeeping: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), James Trafford (Burnley).
  • Defense line: Kyle Walker and John Stones (Manchester City), Luke Shaw and Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Jarrad Branthwaite (Everton), Jarel Quansah and Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Mark Guehi (Crystal Palace), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Ezri Konsa (Aston). Villa) and Lewis Dunk (Brighton).
  • Midline: Declan Rice (Arsenal), Kobe Maino (Manchester United), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Trent Alexander-Arnold and Curtis Jones (Liverpool).
  • Offensive line: Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), James Maddison ( Tottenham), Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Phil Foden and Jack Grealish (Manchester City), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace).

Source link

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى