Marcelo Bielsa is on a date with history in Copa America 2024

Argentine coach Marcelo Bielsa is waiting for the technical director For the Uruguay national teamA historic achievement, if “Loco” was able to lead “The Celeste” to the 2024 Copa America title.

And it is held Copa America 2024 In the United States of America, this is the second time that the country of Cousin Sam will host the tournament, after the 2016 edition, and it will be held from June 20 to July 14.

Coach Marcelo Bielsa is preparing to appear for the third time in the Copa America, after having previously participated in the most important tournament at the South American level twice with the Argentine national team.

Coach Marcelo Bielsa’s first participation in the Copa America was in the 1999 edition, in which he left in the quarter-finals after a defeat by Brazil (2-1), before leading the Tango again in the 2004 tournament, in which he was able to reach the final but suffered another loss. from Brazil This time (6-4) on penalty kicks, after a draw (2-2).

The 68-year-old coach also previously led the Chilean national team, but did not participate with him in the Copa America, despite his presence at the head of the technical staff for 5 years from 2007 until 2011, when he left before the tournament was held in 2011.

6 North American teams in Copa America 2024

The Uruguay national team is entering the Copa America tournament and is one of the most prominent candidates to win the title. It also hopes to expand the gap again with the Argentine national team, with each of them owning 15 titles in the history of the competition.

The Celeste hopes to break a long period of fasting, during which he was not known to ascend to the podium in Cuba, as the last time he won the title dates back to 2011, that is, 13 years ago, at the expense of Paraguay, led by retired star Diego Forlan and Luis Suarez, and that was the last. A title for Uruguay so far.

Will Marcelo Bielsa lead Uruguay to glory in the Copa America?

The Uruguay national team is betting on coach Marcelo Bielsa to restore its glories again in the Copa America, and if the Argentine coach is able to win the title for the first time, he will enter the history of the tournament from its widest gates, with an achievement that has only been achieved before in 4 previous times.

Never before has a foreign coach led a team in the Copa America won the title on only 4 occasions, over the course of more than 100 years, and the first of them was the Englishman Jack Greenwell, who led the Peruvian national team to win the title in the 1939 edition, in the tournament held in Lima.

While the second coach was Brazilian Danilo Alvim, who led the Bolivia national team to achieve the first and last title in its history, winning the title in 1963.

As for the third coach who succeeded in winning the Copa America title with a team that did not hold his nationality, he was Argentine Jorge Sampaoli, who won the 2015 Copa America title with Chile. Then the Chilean national team maintained the title in the 2016 edition, and that was led by Spanish coach Juan Antonio Pizzi.

Foreign coaches won the Copa America

Ranking the coach Nationality The team with which he won the title the year
1 Jack Greenwell England Peru 1939
2 Danilo Alvim Brazil Bolivia 1963
3 Jorge Sampaoli Argentina Chile 2015
4 Juan Antonio Pizzi Spain Chile 2016

Source link

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى