Maradona, Pele and others…legends who did not achieve the Copa America

Argentine Lionel Messi (37 years old) was until recently among the list of legends who did not win the Copa America during their career, before he broke the jinx and won the title in the 2021 edition, when he scored 4 goals and led (Alpe Celeste) to win the cup at the expense of host Brazil.

The Copa America Cup has eluded Latin American football moguls for decades, most notably the Brazilian legend Pele and the Argentine icon Diego Armando Maradona, in addition to stars who won the Ballon d’Or and the World Cup, such as the Brazilian Ricardo Kaka.

Days before the start of Copa America 2024 in the United States, we monitor these legends via… winwin website In the next report.

Myths that did not achieve Copa America | Pele is the highlight

Pele led Brazil to 3 World Cup titles in the middle of the last century; But he unexpectedly failed in the Copa America. After winning the 1958 World Cup in Sweden with an exceptional performance, the brown jewel participated with Brazil in the 1959 Copa America in Argentina, where he won the top scorer award by scoring 8 goals and the best player award, but unfortunately for him, the Seleção finished the tournament. In second place after Argentina.

Later, Pele was unable to participate in the Copa America at all for various reasons that continued with him until he retired from the game. At times, the Brazilian Federation decided to participate in the youth team, at other times it apologized for not participating, and at third times it withdrew before the start of the 1967 edition in Uruguay. While the tournament was essentially halted for 8 years before resuming in 1975, these factors combined to deny Pele the title.

Pele celebrates the 1970 World Cup with the Brazilian national team (SBS)

Diego Maradona

Just like Pele, Maradona led Argentina to the World Cup title in Mexico 1986 with amazing performance and a distinctive style. But he failed to win the Copa America in 3 editions: 1979, 1987, and 1989 with Albi Celeste. What is interesting is that some factors occurred that deprived him of the title.

Argentina won the Copa America in 1991 and 1993, and Maradona was still active on the football field. However, the player did not join the national team in the 1991 edition due to his suspension in light of his proven doping use, while he withdrew from the list before the start of the 1993 edition.

Ricardo Kaka

The career of Brazilian Ricardo Kaka is exemplary in every sense of the word, whether in terms of team titles or individual awards. He won the World Cup, the Confederations Cup, the Champions League, the Spanish and Italian Leagues, the European Super Cup, and the Club World Cup, in addition to the Golden Ball award and the best player in Europe… dozens of titles. And the trophies are only missing from the Copa America Cup.

Kaká’s story with Copa America is a bit strange. Immediately before the start of the tournament, something happens that leads to his exclusion. In the 2007 edition, for example, coach Dunga excluded him from the list for no good reason. The same thing happened in 2011, and in 2016 he was injured hours before the tournament.

Kaká with the 2005 World Player of the Year award (Getty)

Alvaro Recoba

Another legendary name in South American football who did not win the Copa America Cup is the left-handed Uruguayan striker Alvaro Recoba, who enjoyed a very strong career with Italian Inter Milan and won 7 local and European titles with him.

partner Recopa In only two editions of the Copa America, in 1997, he was eliminated from the groups. Then his best achievements came when he finished the 2007 edition in fourth place, while injuries and suspensions contributed to his exclusion from the 1999, 2001 and 2004 editions.

Retired Uruguayan Alvaro Recoba, former Inter Milan player (DAZN)

Radamel Falcao

Colombian striker Radamel Falcao joined the list of legends who did not achieve the Copa America despite his impressive levels, as he scored more than 300 goals in his career with various clubs, and his best achievements in the Copa America were limited to reaching the quarter-finals in the 2011, 2015 and 2019 editions.

Source link

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى