Libya celebrates Qatar’s organization of the Arab Cup with its historic legend number

Qatar has succeeded in bringing the Arab Cup back to life until the year 2033, by officially accrediting the tournament by the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA), as an international tournament that is held outside the international agenda periodically every four years, as it was decided before the FIFA Congress scheduled for next Friday. In the Thai capital, three consecutive editions of the competition will be held in Qatar during 2025, 2029 and 2033.

Qatar, which successfully hosted the last edition of the Arab Cup in 2021, with the participation of 16 Arab teams, and Algeria was crowned champion at the expense of Tunisia, seeks to enhance the standing of the tournament globally to develop Arab football, by providing the opportunity for our Arab teams, including Libya, to compete at a high level and gain More international experience.

Although the team The Libyanwho did not participate in the last edition after the defeat by Sudan by a single goal, in the qualifiers for the 2021 Arab Cup, the Libyans are still celebrating the number of their historical legend, Muhammad Ali Al-Debski, known as “Ali Al-Baski.”

Ali Al-Baski, the historical top scorer in the Arab Cup

Al-Dabski – one of the football legends in Libya – is considered the historical top scorer in the Arab Cup with 18 goals. He scored two goals in the second edition, which was held in Kuwait in 1964. Then he returned in the third edition of the tournament, which was held in Iraq in 1966, during which he scored 16 goals and won two Best Player awards. Top scorer in the tournament.

Al-Debski, who died in 2019 at the age of 78, played for major clubs in Libya: Al-Madina, Al-Ahly Tripoli, and Al-Ittihad, in addition to Al-Tersana and Al-Mashal Club.

He won the title of top scorer in the Libyan League on two occasions, the first with Al-Madina Club in 1965 and the second with Al-Ahly Tripoli in 1968. Al-Ittihad Club is considered his last football stop after he announced his retirement from football in 1970.

The journey of the Libyan national team in the Arab Cup

Over the course of its long history, Libya participated in 4 editions of previous Arab championships. But she did not win any title. The first participation was in Kuwait 1964, where she finished runner-up behind champion Iraq. The second participation was in the third championship in Baghdad 1966, where she achieved third place.

The former Moroccan national team star expects great success for the Arab Cup in Qatar (Getty)

It was the third participation in the seventh edition that it hosted Qatar 1998, and left the tournament in the first round after losing to Qatar and Jordan. In the fourth participation, which was held in Saudi Arabia in 2012, the Libyan team lost the final to Morocco on penalties after a 1-1 draw.

Source link

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى