Hamilton beats Verstappen to claim first win since 2021

Mercedes driver, the legendary champion, Lewis Hamilton achieved a historic victory on his home turf, in the British Grand Prix, the twelfth round of the Formula One World Championship For the year 2024.

This is the first win for the seven-time world champion British driver since he climbed to the top step of the podium at the Saudi Grand Prix in December 2021, and he waited 57 Grands Prix to achieve his record 104th victory in his career.

Hamilton completed 52 laps in 1:22:27.059 hours, 1.465 seconds ahead of Verstappen and 7.547 seconds ahead of his compatriot McLaren driver Lando Norris in third place.

Hamilton sheds tears after ninth win at Silverstone

“I was waiting for this,” cried the Briton, who was unable to control himself inside his car and broke down in tears after achieving his ninth victory at the Silverstone circuit, breaking his partnership with the legend Michael Schumacher as the most winners at a single circuit.

Hamilton, who will move to Ferrari next season, continued: “Since 2021, I have been fighting, training and mentally preparing for such a task every day, and working as hard as I can.”

“This is my last race with the team here, I love them so much and I will be forever grateful to everyone at Mercedes and to the amazing fans,” he added.

Hamilton took advantage of the first-place points to consolidate his eighth place in the drivers’ standings with 110 points, one point behind his team-mate and compatriot George Russell, who came away empty-handed after being forced to retire due to a hydraulic problem in his car.

In contrast, Verstappen strengthened his lead in the standings with 255 points, 84 points ahead of Norris (171) and 105 points ahead of Ferrari driver Charles Leclerc from Monaco, who disappointed by finishing 15th.

Lewis Hamilton Mercedes driver (X/LewisHamilton) One One winwin

Red Bull raised its tally at the top of the manufacturers’ standings to 373 points, ahead of Ferrari (302) and McLaren (295).

Australian Oscar Piastri finished fourth behind his McLaren teammate Norris, followed by Ferrari’s Spanish driver Carlos Sainz and German Nico Hulkenberg (Haas) in fifth and sixth respectively, while the top ten positions were completed by Aston Martin drivers Lance Stroll of Canada and Fernando Alonso of Spain, Alexander Albon of Thailand (Williams) and Yuki Tsunoda of Japan (RB).

Source link

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى