Argentina is seeking to end its partnership with Uruguay in the 2024 Copa America

The 2022 World Cup champion, Argentina, is preparing to participate in the tournament Copa America 2024 in the United States of America, and he set his sights on ending the partnership with the Uruguay national team, with which he shares the list of most crowned champions, with 15 titles each.

Star companions will enter Lionel Messi The 48th edition of the Copa America, and they hold the championship title that they achieved in the last edition by defeating the host Brazil with a clean goal in the final match at the historic Maracanã Stadium.

“The Flea” then succeeded in achieving his first continental title during his career with Argentina and gave his country the first title in the competition since 1993, which witnessed the last crowning of the title by Argentina, but the next challenge in the United States will be to maintain the title and hold the record as the most crowned.

“It won’t be my dancer’s job.”Tango“It is undoubtedly easy to achieve the sixteenth title, despite the fact that the nominations are in the interest of coach Lionel Scaloni’s squad, who eliminated any doubt a few days before the start of the tournament, confirming that he will remain in his position, after it was previously reported that he wanted to leave.

The Argentine national team will enter the tournament as the favorite to win its second continental title in a row and the third in total, given that it achieved the World Cup title between the two editions, without forgetting that it won the “Finalisima” 2022 title in its first edition at the expense of the Italian national team, champion of the European Nations Cup 2020.

The Argentine national team seeks to take the lead

Argentina dominated equally Uruguay The Copa America Championship in the 1920s, where they both won the title on 4 occasions, at a time when the competition was held every single year, where “Tango” won the 1921, 1925, 1927 and 1929 editions, while Uruguay won the 1920, 1923, 1924 and 1926 editions.

The Argentine national team won the title of the 1937 edition, while Uruguay won the title of the edition that was two years earlier, before the “Albiceleste” dominated in the forties by achieving 4 full titles in the years (1941, 1945, 1946, and 1947), while its competitor won one title, which was in 1942.

The bilateral rivalry between the two teams continued in the 1950s, when they won 5 full titles, 3 of which were for Argentina, before the latter stopped being on the podium and missed winning the title until 1991. Then he won the 1993 title, and then fasted for a period of nearly twenty years, until the last coronation in 2021. Led by Messi.

Argentina national team captain Lionel Messi

The situation of the Uruguay national team did not differ much, as it won the title in 1967, then in 1983, 1987, then the 1995 edition, after which it fasted for a period of 16 years, before achieving the title. 2011 version At the expense of Paraguay, led by retired star Diego Forlan, alongside Luis Suarez, and that was the last title for the Celeste so far.

Messi has a chance to make history before international retirement

Messi will have a new opportunity to enter history from its widest gates, as he will try to lead the Argentine national team to achieve the sixteenth title in its history, and continue to control the continental title, despite the expected competition from its traditional rival, Brazil.

Expectations indicate that the 2024 Copa America Championship may be the last for the current Inter Miami and former Barcelona star, so he will do everything in his power to add a new title to his country’s national team, and repeat the achievement he achieved three years ago, and then lead “Tango” to hold the record, especially since the national team Uruguay is not a candidate to win the title.

The struggle will be intense on the field between the 16 teams that will participate in the next edition, but the national team of Diego Armando Maradona remains the first candidate to win the title, especially after breaking the knot that haunted it for many years during the last edition.

Copa America champions throughout history:

  1. Argentina: 15 titles.
  2. Uruguay: 15 titles.
  3. Brazil: 9 titles.
  4. Paraguay: two titles.
  5. Chile: two titles.
  6. Peru: one title.
  7. Bolovia: one title.
  8. Colombia: one title.

Source link

مقالات ذات صلة

زر الذهاب إلى الأعلى